Posted by: Allyn | June 14, 2008

Pimp my picnic table

My alarm went off at 4 this morning, and I stumbled to the fridge to pull out my sticky buns to warm up on the counter. Though I woke up at 4 just like every other morning in preparation for the market, I think my timing was the best this time. Here’s how it went:

Thursday 9PM – Friday 7AM: I prepped through the night making doughs, baklava and macarons.
Friday 7AM- 12PM: Sleep
Friday 12PM-7PM Finish breads and macarons
Friday 10PM – Saturday 4AM: Sleep
Saturday 4AM: Bake buns and scones, finish loading car.

Here are the macarons making their shells before going in the oven.

And after. Somebody put some socks on those feet! Okay, they’re little feet, but they are so cute!

Mom worked on my sign while I baked, and baked, and baked.

And here’s “proof” of my baking. Har, har, har… (The loaf is whole wheat maple-walnut that is destined for Father’s Day bread pudding.)

Dad helped me out this morning by wrapping scones and loading. He even came to the market early to help me set up! That was a huge help. We got there about 6:50 and it was already swarming with people. I’m not sure how they know, but something in the air must change the moment a tomato hits the table. Dad and I set up quickly, and I immediately noticed the difference my new presentation made. People were lingering longer at my table. I sold out of ciabatta and focaccia within an hour! The scones were soon to follow.

I forgot my camera, but Dad went back to get it. That’s why I look so empty int he photos… but that’s a good thing.Not much left

I feel much more professional after my makeover. I could start a service called “Pimp my Picnic Table.”

Now that tomatoes are here I could probably start selling on Tuesdays and Thursdays, too. I just don’t know if I can adjust my sleep schedule that much. I think I’ll stick to Saturdays.

6/14 menu: Whole Wheat Rosemary Focaccia, Whole Wheat Ciabatta, Hazelnut Macarons, Baklava, Whole Wheat Lemon Scones (with candied ginger), and Whole Grain Orange Sticky Buns.

Whew…

Responses

  1. Nice work! I can’t believe the time you put into getting everything ready. It all looks very good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

