Posted by: Allyn | June 17, 2008

Super Burritos… to the rescue!

In thinking about what to have for dinner this week, I knew I had to make something with sweet potatoes and black beans. Why? Because I love them separately, and I love them together. Plus, they’re Super Foods! What’s that up in the sky? Is it a bird, a plane? Probably… because Super Foods fight evil from your plate. Vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, oh my! I can feel my body perking up already!

Ok, seriously. This stuff is good for you. We get the point.

So what other Super Foods could I put on my plate? Hmm… There’s some spinach in the fridge. Wrapping it all up seemed like the next logical step.

I thought my Super Foods deserved to be cloaked in homemade whole wheat tortillas. So, I pulled out the trusty King Arthur Whole Grain Baking book and whipped those together while I cooked the beans and potatoes.

The best part about this meal is I made it this afternoon, so when I finished my bike/run tonight I didn’t have to think about what to refuel my aching body with.

Super Burritos

Beans:
1 tsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed (or equivalent dried)
1 Tbsp cumin

Saute onions and garlic until soft (5 minutes). Add beans and cumin. Smash beans to smithereens (RHYME!).

Potatoes:

3 medium sweet potatoes, washed and cubed
salt
brown sugar
olive oil

Sprinkle sweet potatoes with oil, salt and brown sugar. Roast sweet potatoes at 425 for about 20 – 25 minutes, or until tender.

Tortillas

2 cups white whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp olive oil
6 oz. (or so) warm water

Mix flour and salt in the food pro. Add oil and water while machine is running. (If doing by hand, just mix flour and salt in a bowl and put oil and water in measuring device. Add wet mixture in a well of four and mix until soft dough is formed.) Let dough rest 20 minutes and then divide in to 8 – 10 pieces. (I got 9 pieces weighing just under 2 oz.) Let the dough balls rest another 20 minutes and heat up a nicely seasoned skillet or griddle to med-high. Take one dough ball and form it into a disc with your hands and then roll into a 6-7 inch circle. Immediately lay the dough into the skillet. (I draped the flat round over my rolling pin and very carefully let it rest into the pan. I stress “very carefully.”) While the first one cooks, go ahead and start flattening the second, but don’t lose track of the one in the pan. A good 30 seconds is all it needs before flipping.

Assembly:

Take the tortilla, spread on some beans, top with some sweet taters and spinach, roll it up. Not rocket science. Place seam side down on baking dish and sprinkle with cheese (of your liking). Pop under the broiler for just a couple of minutes to melt the cheese.

After eating these, I wish I had remembered the corn. We have sweet corn from the farmers market in the fridge and I completely forgot to put it in the burritos. Shoot!

**Last time I made these I used store bought corn tortillas 😦 , left the spinach out of the filling and instead pureed it with some soft cheese and tiny bit of broth to bring it together. I spread the green stuff on top of the wraps and sprinkled the corn on top. It was so pretty. I’ll have to make that version again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

