Posted by: Allyn | June 25, 2008

Grapefruit Salad

I saw a post by Kath last week that inspired me to give my grapefruit salad a second shot. Last time my dressing was less than inspiring, and I liked the inclusion of nuts and goat cheese on hers. Let’s be frank. Goat cheese makes everything better.

The dressing from the restaurant Kath visited was a honey based dressing, so I just went from there.

I threw together a couple spoonfuls of honey, champagne vinegar, a touch of EVOO and half a spoonful of orange marmalade. It was sweet and tangy, just what I wanted.

The salad consists of some red leaf lettuce, 2 grapefruits, 1 naval orange, about 2 oz. of goat cheese, 3 – 4 oz. salmon (it was the kind in the sealed packet… not the best, but it needs to be eaten), and 2 oz. walnuts that I nuked with a generous sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and a little dab of butter. Put it together and what have you got? Bippity-Boppity-Boo!

Sorry, Disney infiltrated my brain at an early age and these things just happen sometimes.

Anyway, give it a go. It’s a great simple salad for a summer’s eve.

Peace!

Responses

  1. ok, i’m sitting at my computer and drooling over the food posts and the keys re geting a littl sticky so its hrd to finsh ths


Leave a Reply

Categories

