Posted by: Allyn | July 8, 2008

Coordinating Dinner

I did not intend to coordinate my dinner with the flowers on the table… I guess that’s just what happens when you “eat the rainbow.”

First I have to point out those cucs which were a gift from my farmers market buddy Harry. He was passing out samples on Saturday of his Armenian cucumbers and gave me the last half of one. Notice how they look like flowers, but that is it’s natural shape (and no peeling required!). The vibrant red tomatoes are from our garden; the only way I’ll eat them plain is if they’re straight from the dirt. The potato salad is from Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and is her summer version of potato salad. I must say it is my new love. I thought I couldn’t love potatoes any more than I already did, but tossing them with fresh veg, balsamic, EVOO, and basil just takes them to a whole new level. And no mayo!! Hooray!!! Let’s look a little closer…

Here is a link to the recipe. I don’t want to infringe on her copyright. She and the other ‘solvers deserve all the credit. Oh, I can vouch for the Spring recipe, too. Lots of flavor…

Now for the dip that is partially covering the cucs. It is from Giada DeLaurentiis on the Today Show, and I know a certain aunt that could use this for entertaining. It is very easy to throw together, not to mention healthy.  Simply saute about 3 small shallots (or baby onions from the garden like I did) with 3 cloves garlic in a couple Ts of olive oil. When that is fragrant and soft add one large bag of fresh spinach and let it slowly wilt… tossing it will help. Throw all this into the food processor with 1 can of drained cannelloni beans, juice of 1 lemon, 1 T balsamic, 1 t salt and a few cranks of pepper. I think the recipe calls for another clove of garlic to go in the food pro, but if you’re serving at a party, I may leave it out. I’d also consider throwing in a few basil leaves.

Very fresh flavors… especially with some crudite… or Armenian cucumbers.

YUM!

Peace!

Responses

  1. i’m going to serve it soon! it looks awesome

    from cetain aunt
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

