Posted by: Allyn | August 6, 2008

I did it!

I ate a macaron (ok, several macarons) from a real bakery (not in Paris) !!!! The best news is that I am pretty close to having this cookie right.

I went to two bakeries in Sacramento and had a definite favorite. They were both good, mind you, but one of them had superior quality. I liked that the macs didn’t seem too perfectly round… maybe because they looked like mine? I still don’t know what the perfect mac is supposed to feel like or taste like. The two bakeries produced very different kinds of macarons. One was more firm, and the ones I liked were a little softer.

It was heaven. We poured milk in wine glasses and sat around the little macs and shared bites of each. I bought every flavor I found. Ginger Elizabeth (my favorite) was 2 almonds and 2 chocolates. Le Petit Paris had fig, chocolate, lemon, pistachio, violet, rose, lavender, strawberry and caramel. All were very yummy. The caramel one rocked the house. We all three loved it along with the fig.

I can’t wait to get home so I can bake more. 🙂

Responses

  1. they all sound yummy. can’t wait to taste one of yours… because it will be the best of all!!!
    very proud, prejudiced aunt

  2. you need to post up pics of your party, yo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

