Posted by: Allyn | September 1, 2008

Daring Bakers Challenge: Chocolate Eclairs

I have a confession to make. I’ve never eaten an éclair.  I’ve never even been tempted by them. I guess when I went into a bakery, I was swooned by other confections. Poor éclair.

Thank goodness for the Daring Bakers to make me actually try one… and of course try baking several.

I decided to throw a party for my bicycle buddies after a metric century ride. (I needed hungry people to help me eat all these confections.)

Here are the pictures:

After mixing in the eggs to warm dough.

Piped in long strands to cut after going in the freezer… Thank you Tartlette!

I did the steaming method and didn’t open the door. I just lowered the temp and then let them cool in an open oven.

The second pan to go in the oven did better because they weren’t totally frozen, I’m guessing.

Filled with whipped cream and topped with chocolate.

The verdict: I won’t say I’ll never eat another éclair because I’d like to taste one made by a professional, but I didn’t like these. I was expecting crisp pastry and I was disappointed.

But the party guests loved them. All present wished they were larger. Heh, I thought they were cute all teensy weensy like that. Seriously, haven’t these people heard of petit fours? Obviously not. That’s what I get for being from Mississippi.

I also made the Cheesecake Pops from earlier this year when I was not a member. Um… Oh. My. God. Not only incredibly cute, but also incredibly tasty. YUM! I can’t find pictures, though. I guess I forgot to take some of that. Guess I’ll have to make them again. 🙂

Responses

  1. It was my first time with éclairs as well! 🙂 Yours look very nice, and I’m with you, I was expecting more crispness…

  2. Wish I could pipe as well as you did. The long piping would have stretched my skills in that area, though I’d read Tartlette’s suggestion. Good job.

  3. Love the pictures. I can’t believe you’ve never had an eclair before. They’re my favorite! Funny you mention the cheesecake pops. My neighbors still talk about those. Guess I need to make them again!

  4. I’m sorry you didn’t like them but they look really good. Great job!

  5. definitely try the professionally made ones! They are such a great trea.

  6. I meant to say “treat”


Leave a Reply

Categories

