Posted by: Allyn | December 31, 2008

Chocolate log, yule log, buche… Daring Bakers December edition

This month’s challenge is brought to us by the adventurous Hilda from Saffron and Blueberry and Marion from Il en Faut Peu Pour Etre Heureux.
They have chosen a French Yule Log by Flore from Florilege Gourmand.

And I must say, it was pretty challenging. The only problem I had was achieving the thinness for the crisp layer… Frankly, I didn’t. When it came time to slice the grand log the bottom bits squished out like some kind of child’s toy. I ended up pulling out the crisp layer and serving it alongside each portion.

Live and learn…

My favorite part was definitely the mousse. WOW, that was good stuff. I chose the dark/milk version. I tried to steer clear of all dark/intense elements and chose to break things up with semisweet and milk chocolate substitutions.

The creme brulee layer was pretty eggy tasting, but I didn’t notice it when eaten with all the chocolate elements. And the chocolate glaze was kind of sticky? No, that’s not the right word… Too much gelatin I think. Taste was spot on, though.

I received lots of “oh my gods” from the family members over this one. There was a debate over whether it was too much of a good thing. Um… is that possible… really?

Responses

  1. Congratulations on completing the challenge!! And a Happy New Year 🙂

  2. This was a challenge. I’m glad you found time to make it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

